New Season 2014

New Season – April 2014

April – start of a new tennis season! New padlock code!

FUN Weekend Saturday 5th-Sunday 6th April 10-12pm
Come and try our ball cannon, new mini net, touch tennis,
new outdoor nets, tennis activities and games!
Part of SMART (Saturday Morning Activity and Recreational Time) Club on Saturday, charge £2 each. Sunday: FREE Indoors if wet.

Easter Tennis Camp
Thursday 10th & Friday 11th April
10-11am Beginners (Red Mini) 11-12pm Improvers
£3 a session for CTC members £4 non-members
Coach: Lewie Parker

Summer Coaching Wednesday 23rd April onwards
Beginners (Red Mini) 4pm Improvers (Orange Mini) 5pm
Adult/student beginners 6pm Adult advanced 7.30pm
From £3.50 a session for CTC members
Coach: John Griffiths

Coffee Morning
On Saturday 15th March CTC raised over £250. Thanks to all who supported this!

New Nets!!
The new LTA nets are up- please help us preserve them by tying up with the
bungy cords to prevent chafing.
We also have a new mini net thanks to LTA sponsorship!

Members and lapsed members!
If you haven’t already renewed your membership, do so now to get access to the courts over the Easter holidays! See attachment for membership form.
We have signed a new hire agreement with the CRA, please respect the conditions
of hire when using the courts (attached).

League
A reminder that all league players must be fully paid up CTC members before the
first match. Match fees are due each match from every player. Matches begin on Monday 21st April and are on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings.

Tarka Mixed Summer League
Anyone interested? Let CTC know by the end of April.

LTA/CTC Risk Assessment
Please take care accessing the courts if it is dark. Use a torch if necessary. One floodlight is not working on Court 1, so use the other courts at night.

CTC Tournament
To enter fill in your entry on your membership form (attached) or contact Andy (details below). Mens and Ladies doubles partners are to be drawn again this year. The Mixed can be entered as a pair if you wish but if you don’t have a regular partner Andy will try to find you one so please don’t be shy. For ease of administration the tournament entry fee is a one off £4 which covers all classes entered and also includes entry to the planned doubles ladder set to run throughout the year. Watch this space for more info on this.

Wimbledon Draw
If you wish to enter the club’s Wimbledon Ticket Ballot you need to have filled
in the relevant part of the membership form or contact Andy (details below) before the draw on Sunday 4th May.

Calendar Dates for 2014
Tue 1st Apr New season starts: subscriptions due; padlock code change
Sat/Sun 5th/6th Apr FUN TENNIS Weekend!
Sat 5th-Mon 21st Apr Academy Easter holiday
Thu 1oth-Fri 11th Easter Camp
Mon 21st Apr Mens Chulmleigh A v Chulmleigh B
Tue 22nd Apr Ladies Chulmleigh A v Ilfracombe D
Tue 22nd Apr-16th May Mini tennis month – Red Mini coaching 4pm on Weds
Wed 23rd Apr Summer coaching starts
Mon 28th Apr Chulmleigh A v Tarka A
Tue 29th Apr Ladies Chulmleigh A v Westward Ho! E
Thu 1st May Mens Chulmleigh C v West Buckland A
Fri 2nd May Deadline for inclusion in Wimbledon Draw (See Andy Fitch)
Sun 4th May Wimbledon Ballot after social play
Mon 5th May Mens Chulmleigh B v Rock Park F
Thu 8th May Mens Chulmleigh C v Park Lane C
Sat/Sun 17th/18th May LTA Great British Tennis Weekend-more FUN TENNIS!
Sat 26th May-1st Jun Academy half term
Sun 1st Jun French Open Social
Sat/Sun 21st/22nd Jun LTA Great British Tennis Weekend-more FUN TENNIS!
Sun 29th Jun Wimbledon Social
Sat/Sun 19th/20th Jul LTA Great British Tennis Weekend-more FUN TENNIS!
Wed 23rd Jul Chulmleigh Fair and Academy summer holiday starts
Wed 3rd Sep Non Pupil Day
Sun 7th Sep Tournament Finals Day
Sun 14th Sep Reserve Tournament Finals Day

Term Time Access to the Courts for CTC members
Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri 6pm-10pm
Wed 6pm-10pm coaching/social play on spare court
Sat/Sun 10am–10pm (Sunday social play 10am)

Tennis Club Contact Details
This newsletter is also published on www.chulmleightennisclub.co.uk
01769 580819 for coaching, new tennis balls @ £4 a tin or any queries.
01769 581415 Brian Smith for social play on Sun am
01363 83279 Membership secretary: Chris
01837 82169 Andy Fitch for Wimbledon Draw and Club Tournament
email: andrew.fitch24@btinternet.com

Email: chulmleightennisclub@hotmail.co.uk for any other matters.

Comments are closed.